Start a new topic

How to control Sonoff over Internet?

Hello,

I am new to using Sonoffs, new to this forum and this is my first post.

I have a Sonoff 4CH Pro R2 that I ahve set up to control 3 different devices all running on 12V DC.

I have got them all working fine controlling them through my Android devices when they are conntected to my home WiFi network. That's great but I need to be able to control these devices when I'm away from home too. When I turn off the WiFi on the Android phone  and force it to connect to the Internet over LTE, I get the "Network Unavailable" error message.

If I logoff eWeLink and try to logon again when not connected to my WiFi network, I get a "Login Failed, Please Try Again Later" error message.

Am I missing something here? I thought you were supposed to be able to control these Sonoffs remotely over the Internet. If you can't then they're not of much use. I can control these devices manually when I'm at home so being able to control them with the Sonoff only when I'm within range of my WiFi network defeats the purpose of using them.

How can I make it so I can control the Sonoff over the Internet via my phone's  4G/LTE connection? Where are there instructions for this?

If it happens to be important, I am located in Canada and my cell phone provider is Virgin/Bell.

I should add to this I'm using the lastest 3.3.0 firmware and the latest version of eWeLink

You surely are connected with the device via LAN.  Disable this in eWelink. And the device must always be connected to wifi modem. You should be able control the device via LTE/4G. If not, there is some trouble with pairing. Delete device in eWelink and try to pairing again.

I have one sonoff 4ch pro, one basic and one duo and all of them can be controlled far away from home.

And test if the modem is connected to internet. When LAN is enable in eWelink you can control the device even the modem is on and is not connected to internet.